Wednesday, September 30, 2009

The Ultimate Question

Q: What do you want to be when you grow up?
A: I have no idea.

That's how the conversation normally goes. But it's the truth. I have no idea what I want to be when I grow up. That worries me because I have two years until I go to college. You think two years that's a long time. To me it's not because I know how fast two years can go by. When I was younger I always wanted to be a pop star. What little girl didn't? Then I went through the teacher phase because I would play school with my sisters and I was thought it would be fun. Then I thought about it more and more and realized I wouldn't really want to work with kids all day. I just don't have the patience for it. So then I told everyone I was going to be a lawyer. A corporate lawyer at that. I wanted to be that for a long time. Thought about that one for a while and decided I didn't want to go to school for that long. After getting braces I gave orthodontist a thought. That wouldn't work because I would have to look into people's mouth and that would gross me out a bit. So finally I have come to the conclusion that I will just be undecided. But I would like very much to be successful although everyone has their own definition of success.

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Rain, Rain, Rain

It's pouring outside right now. Or at least it sounds like it's pouring. I love the rain but I'm kind of angry that it's raining today because I wanted to go running when I got home and I wanted to go to the soccer game. The game will probably be rained out and it isn't fun to rain in the rain. If it is just sprinkling then it's tolerable and sometimes even enjoyable. When it rains I just want to go to the library pick out a ton of books, sit in my room and begin reading them. I really like sitting on my porch in the rain because the smell of rain as it hits hot pavement is one of my favorite smells. It brings back all the memories I have of playing in the rain with my sisters and grandma in the summertime. Now we've all grown up and my grandma has gotten to where she doesn't enjoy spontaneous acts like that anymore. Memories are always good to have though. Some of my most vivid memories took place in the rain. Like the one time my older sisters and I were playing outside on the fourth of July with a few other kids in the neighborhood and all of the sudden there came a down pour of rain. It was insane and instead of being bummed out we just ran around and took buckets to catch the water gushing out of the gutters then we would dump the whole bucket on the first person we could catch. I was always the youngest and couldn't carry a heavy bucket of water and run fast at the same time so if it was even possible I was more soaked than everyone else.

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Potable, Pote, Cheese.

IB Biology is one of my favorite classes. Not only because Bates teaches it but because of the funny things that are said in his class. Today we were talking about the advantages of a compound light microscope. He went on to tell us about the usual stuff and then told us it was "potable" that made a lot of us giggle and then ask "You mean portable don't you?" Of course he did but he told us portable/potable same thing. When he let us know something was expensive he went on to say it was a lot of cheese and g's. Later on he was thumbing through papers trying to find a picture of a transmission electron microscope and couldn't find it. We all told him someone must have "poted" it out of his room and taken it for their own uses. The class went on and on with funny sayings and phrases. We then started talking about snakes and our teacher keeps a snake in the room. A few people decide to go and take the snake out and play with it. I was contetnt with touching it and what not until he turned his head towards me and starting hissing and sticking it's tongue out. That was enough for me I went back to my seat content and witnessed others putting the snake on their heads and letting him slither around their necks. It was slightly disturbing. I applaud them for their bravery but can't stand the thought of something cold with scales slowly creeping on my neck and arms. I hope to be able to do that one day but I doubt that will happen anytime soon since I pratically bolted back to my seat at the sight of his tongue coming out in my direction.

Friday, September 18, 2009

Fight With Dignity

I believe it is easier to fight with dignity than to surrender in shame. I'm a stubborn person and always think I'm right. I'll be one of the first to admit it. I fight for what I think is right which means I fight with dignity. If I surrendered in shame I would feel like I failed and didn't defend myself. I don't like the thought of failure one bit. It scares me and is one of my biggest fears. I try and do everything with dignity whether it be fighting or making something. I feel you should do everything with dignity because it improves your self-esteem and everyone could use a boost of self-esteem from time to time.

NEW TOPIC:
So tonight I have to go to the game and we play Catholic. I say I HAVE to go because I need to film the cheerleaders for ENL. After I get twenty minutes of them I plan on going to the Catholic side and hanging out with some of my friends over there. It will be a pretty eventful evening I'm sure. They are one of our rivals since they are the only private high school in our county. I love football and that's another reason I'm looking forward to attending tonight. I feel like I haven't watched a football game in ages and it disappoints me. Football is my all time favorite sport to watch and when I don't watch it at least once a week eveyrthing jsust feels wrong.

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Does money make the world go round?

Well, does it? I suppose money has a little bit to do with it. Money is pretty important because without money we wouldn't be wearing the clothes we have or the shoes we have on. Money is used everyday by almost everyone. We can't go a day without spending at least a small amount of money. I'll let you know one thing though, I'm pretty good with my money. I don't spend too much of it but I spend enough. If I had a job then I'd probably spend a whole lot more because then I'd have more to spend. My dad always tells my sister they should be responsible with their money like I am but they haven't quite caught on yet. I do have those days when I spend a lot of money but who doesn't? Everyone gets in that "spending mood" it may come often or it may come rarely but you know what I'm talking about. A goal I have though is to get a job and budget my money well. That way later in life I will have no problem with managing my money.

Sunday, September 13, 2009

Mind Your Manners

I watched the VMA's tonight and Russell Brand made a huge deal about how they were all there to love and support one another in honor of Michael Jackson. Of course I'm tired of hearing about Michael Jackson. The crowd went crazy since most of the grew up listening to The King of Pop or idolized him in some way. The awards were running smoothly no terrible mess ups that is until it was time for the best female music video award. Beyonce, Lady GaGa, Taylor Swift, Kelly Clarkson, and Pink were all nominated. The winner was announced and Taylor Swift had won so she made her way onto the stage and started to make her acceptance/thank you speech. Well what do you know during the middle of the whole thing Kanye West marches up there and take the microphone. Not only does he interupted Taylor he basically says she didn't deserve the award at all and it should have gone to Beyonce. I was definately shocked as was the crowd. You should have more respect for someone as an artist and a person than that. Not only that but he was shown on camera applauding Russell Brand for saying they were all there to love and support one another. It seems pretty hypocritical to me. I can say everything was sorted out when Beyonce won best video of the year and asked Taylor to come back on stage and finish her speech I truly admire her for that.

The point of this whole thing is that no matter who you are having a lack of cuth and manners is a turn off and everyone should work on being more respectful and polite.

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Laughter

My family laughs all the time. I can always tell who is laughing because each of my family members has a distinct laugh. Sometimes it is hard to tell when Kara laughs because she has so many different laughs. It gets quite annoying because she has such a loud throaty laugh.
My mom has this thing where she changes her laugh depending on who she is talking to. Which is kind of a good thing because when I want to know who she is talking to I just wait for her to laugh and it narrows it down. We all say Kara got her laugh from Mom because both of their laughs change.
My laugh is really embarrassing if I let it get away from me. Most of the time I have a mildly loud laugh and when I'm sarcastically laughing I'll laugh soft. When I find something to be extremely funny and there are people around me who wouldn't mind I just let it all out and my laugh is very loud. It always excites my close friend's when I laugh loud at something they say because then they know I think it is truly funny.

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Weekend Madness

Alright well my parents celebrated their anniversary over the weekend by taking a trip out of town Friday night. My dad made arrangements for my grandparents to come stay with us so my sisters and me wouldn't be stranded at home without someone to drive us places. We came home to find our grandparents waiting on us when my grandpa suddenly tells us he is going back home, which is an hour and a half away. It hit me then that we wouldn't have a way to go places because my parents didn't leave keys to the van and my car is at Harley's. I had to film for ENL that night and was frantically calling and texting people asking if they could give me a ride to the game. Thankfully Lee was able to give me a ride there and my neighbor ended up taking me home. Not only did that add stress to my night it also upset my parents quite a bit that my grandpa up and left without any warning.

Thursday, September 3, 2009

It's Game Time

Tomorrow night is our first home game. It's pretty exciting since we only have four home games this year. I have to film for our school news but I'm also going to watch the MVP #42 Jonathan Crabtree play because he is the best player on our team and said that tomorrow will be a thrilling game. I love football season since football is my favorite sport and it is one a actually understand. I enjoy being outside in the cool fall air and being a part of the big student section cheering on our favorite players.
On Tuesday night our soccer team played OHS and we technically lost by one point but while everyone was leaving Jeff drove his car into one of the practice goals to tie the game.

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Teen Pregenancies

Many girls these days waddle around school pregnant. Then nine months is up and I see them bring in their babies and show them off as if they were trophies. To me that is just sad. Why would you brag about having a child when you yourself are a child? It scares me when I start to think about it. You would think after all these years of "the talk" and hearing about the different STDs that are around these days people would be more responsible when it comes to having sex. I guess I thought wrong because the amount of teen mothers seems to be on the rise. It frustrates me that some people these days don't have any morals or forget about them for that one time or that one person. Is it really worth it? I don't see how it can be. Yeah they have this cute baby but you have to care for it and raise it AND attempt to keep up with school on top of everything else. That isn't the life of luxury, I don't think I can handle it. Don't misunderstand me though I admire the girls who have their child and stay in school. They are helping their child have a better life. I just wish people in high school and possibly younger would be more responsible with their actions. Every action has a consequence and some of them can become a big responsibility.